FSU Law Black Alumni Network Announces 2024 BAN Award Recipients

Press Date
June 27, 2024

TALLAHASSEE — The Florida State University Law Black Alumni Network (BAN) is proud to announce the recipients of the 2024 BAN Awards. These awards recognize outstanding achievements and contributions to the legal profession by FSU Law alumni. The awards will be presented during the 2024 Homecoming celebration.

The distinguished honorees for this year are:

  • Distinguished Alumni Award: Sia Baker Barnes (West Palm Beach)
  • Outstanding Jurist of the Year: Judge Nina Ashenafi-Richardson (Tallahassee)
  • Most Outstanding Young Alumni Award: Freddelle Menard (West Palm Beach)
  • Enduring Legacy Award: Daryl Parks (Tallahassee)
  • President’s Award of Excellence: Jennito Simon (Ft. Lauderdale)

G.C. Murray II ('12), president of the FSU Law Black Alumni Network, expressed his enthusiasm for this year’s recipients, stating, “Each of these distinguished individuals has demonstrated exceptional dedication, leadership, and commitment to the legal profession. We are honored to recognize their contributions and celebrate their achievements.”

The BAN Awards aim to highlight the excellence and impact of FSU Law alumni within the legal community and beyond. The awards ceremony will take place during the 2024 FSU Homecoming, with specific details to be finalized and announced by incoming President Kenneth Pratt’s administration.

For more information about the BAN Awards or the FSU Law Black Alumni Network, please contact:

FSU Law Black Alumni Network

About the FSU Law Black Alumni Network:
The FSU Law Black Alumni Network is dedicated to fostering a strong community among Black alumni of Florida State University College of Law. The network aims to support alumni through professional development, networking opportunities, and recognition of their achievements.