Environmental Law Program Hosts Distinguished Scholars


(L-R) FSU Associate Dean for Environmental Programs Shi-Ling

Hsu, Wright, Webb, Gosman, Jones and Van Nostrand

Richard Revesz_sm.jpg
2019 Environmental Law Distinguished Lecturer Richard Revesz  

As one of the top 10 environmental law programs in the country, FSU Law regularly hosts distinguished scholars in the area. On January 23, the FSU Environmental Law Program hosted a panel discussion on energy resilience. The panel was moderated by FSU Law alum Robert Scheffel “Schef” Wright (’92), a shareholder at Gardner, Bist, Bowden, Bush, Dee, LaVia & Wright, and included Sara Rollet Gosman, University of Arkansas School of Law; Kevin B. Jones, Vermont Law School; Romany Webb, Sabin Center for Climate Change Law at Columbia Law School; and James Van Nostrand, West Virginia University College of Law. 

On February 6, welcomed Richard Revesz, the Lawrence King Professor of Law and Dean Emeritus at New York University School of Law, as our Spring 2019 Environmental Law Distinguished Lecturer. He presented, “Institutional Pathologies in the Regulatory State: What Scott Pruitt Taught Us About Regulatory Policy.” Revesz is one of the world’s leading voices in the fields of environmental and administrative law. His work focuses on the use of cost-benefit analysis in administrative regulation, federalism and environmental regulation, and design of liability regimes for environmental protection. Revesz also co-founded the Institute for Policy Integrity at NYU School of Law to advocate for regulatory reform before courts, legislatures and agencies, and to contribute original scholarly research in the environmental and health-and-safety areas. Revesv also serves as director of the American Law Institute. Revesz was a judicial clerk for Chief Judge Wilfred Feinberg of the Second Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals, and for Justice Thurgood Marshall of the U.S. Supreme Court. He has been a member of the NYU School of Law faculty since 1985 and served as dean from 2002 to 2013.  

Published on February 20, 2019