Faculty Members Honored With University Teaching Awards

Press Date
May 13, 2022

Erin Ryan (pictured left) and Darby Scott (pictured right)

At the end of April, two of our outstanding faculty members were honored by the university with teaching awards. Erin Ryan (pictured left), our Elizabeth C. & Clyde W. Atkinson professor and associate dean for environmental programs, received the 2021-22 University Teaching Award for Innovation and Teaching at the graduate level, and Clinical Professor Darby Scott (pictured right) received the 2021-22 University Teaching Award for Community Engaged Teaching at the graduate level. Erin was honored for her unique Negotiations seminar, which has a dynamic, interactive, and empowering structure that differs from most traditional law school courses. Students in the course participate in weekly negotiation simulations that help them improve their individual negotiating skills, while also developing a framework for ongoing self-learning, so they can continue expanding these skills throughout their lives.Darby’s selection was based on the many strong relationships she has formed with community partners in concert with her teaching in our Public Interest Law Center. These partnerships allow our students to hone their advocacy skills and expand their legal knowledge, while providing much needed legal services to community members. As students engage in hands-on, experiential learning in the community, they also develop an appreciation for service, which will stay with them during their legal careers. Please join us in congratulating Erin and Darby on their much-deserved awards!


Published on May 13, 2022