Faculty Members Serving in Important Leadership Roles This Academic Year

Press Date
August 14, 2020

FSU Law Professors
Deans Bayern, Kahn, Landau, Ryan and Williams

Summer is usually a time when FSU Law faculty members focus on their scholarship, and this summer was no different. But in addition to researching and writing, professors also have been preparing for a fall semester that will include more robust Zoom courses and in-person classes with new protocols to ensure the health and safety of members of the law school community. Summer is also the time when we traditionally appoint and reappoint faculty associate deans. We hope you will join us in thanking the following faculty members who are serving in important leadership roles this academic year:

  • Shawn J. Bayern, Larry and Joyce Beltz Professor of Torts and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
  • Jeffrey H. Kahn, Harry M. Walborsky Professor and Associate Dean for Business Law Programs
  • David E. Landau, Mason Ladd Professor and Associate Dean for International Programs
  • Erin Ryan, Elizabeth C. & Clyde W. Atkinson Professor and Associate Dean for Environmental Programs
  • Kelli Alces Williams, Matthews & Hawkins Professor of Property and Associate Dean for Research

We would especially like to thank Shawn Bayern, who is now in his second year as associate dean for academic affairs. He had the unenviable task of creating a fall 2020 course schedule that adheres to social distancing policies and accommodates student and faculty preferences for remote learning and teaching. His tireless work on countless academic affairs issues helps advance the law school while conducting our affairs as safely as possible.


Published on August 14, 2020