FSU College of Law Moot Court Team Wins National Competition

Press Date
February 26, 2020
Team Poses with Awards
(L-R) Englund, Purpuro, Kahn


TALLAHASSEE — The Florida State University College of Law Moot Court Team has won first place in the 2020 Jeffrey G. Miller National Environmental Law Moot Court Competition. The competition was held February 20-22 at Pace University in New York.

Fifty-four law school teams participated in the competition, including teams from many of the nation’s top law schools. Competing law schools included Columbia University, Emory University, University of Arizona, University of California-Berkeley, University of California-Davis, University of California-Los Angeles, University of Florida, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, University of Notre Dame, and Washington and Lee University.

Winning team members are third-year law students Ashley Englund, from Londonderry, N.H., Steven Kahn, from Jupiter, Fla., and Alexander Purpuro, from Parkland, Fla. Segundo Fernandez, who practices at Oertel, Fernandez, Bryant & Atkinson, P.A. in Tallahassee, and Shi-Ling Hsu, the D’Alemberte Professor at FSU Law, coached the team to victory.

“Congratulations to our talented student advocates and their dedicated coaches,” said Dean Erin O’Connor. “This national championship has made FSU Law proud!”

Florida State’s advocacy teams have a strong record of winning competitions. Since 2010, the Moot Court Team has won first place in 16 national competitions and in one international competition.