FSU Law J.M. Team Wins a Florida TaxWatch Productivity Award

Press Date
January 8, 2021

Award-winning Juris Master Program team

Congratulations to our FSU Law Juris Master Program team—(pictured above L-R) Susan Bowers, Director Laura Sellati, Courtney Allen, Mary Ann Montague and Associate Dean Manuel Utset, Jr.—who recently won a Florida TaxWatch Productivity Award! The team increased enrollment in the online Juris Master degree program by 49 percent by implementing a streamlined admissions process and enhanced applicant support, growing the number of students enrolled in the program from 166 to 247 between spring 2019 and spring 2020. The new admissions process, which was first implemented for spring 2020 applications, saves students $115 each due to no application fee and is supported by in-house staff. Casey Laurienzo, a J.M. student and contract administrator for the FSU Finance & Administration, Department of Procurement Services, and FSU Law alum Karen Oehme (’87), director of the FSU Institute for Family Violence Studies, also won awards. Florida TaxWatch Productivity Awards recognize and reward state employees and workgroups who find ways to improve services, increase efficiencies and save Florida taxpayers millions of dollars each year. FSU employees claimed a total of 14 Florida TaxWatch Productivity Awards, the most by any institution in the State University System.

Published on January 8, 2021