Moot Court Final Four Competition

Press Date
November 12, 2021
Justices with students

(L-R) Justice Jamie R. Grosshans, Chief Justice Charles T. Canady, Justice
Alan Lawson, Salomé Garcia, Zachary Loyed, Keiana Wilkerson, Justice Ricky Polston,
Ella Biggins, Justice Jorge Labarga, and Justice John D. Couriel

On Wednesday, November 3, four FSU Law students presented oral arguments at the Florida Supreme Court during the 2021 Moot Court Final Four Competition. The annual event is one of my favorites and this year's competition was very special, as we were able to return to the court after the 2020 competition had to be conducted virtually. The outstanding 2Ls competing were Ella Biggins, Salomé Garcia, Zachary Loyed, and Keiana Wilkerson, and they argued in front of all seven Florida Supreme Court justices. The student advocates argued a case involving a product liability claim against the manufacturer of a vehicle equipped with “autodrive” that included allegations of performance limitations and vehicle defects. Following the competition, students, faculty, and friends of FSU Law gathered to celebrate the competitors at a reception in the Rotunda, where Loyed was named Best Advocate for his impressive oral argument. It was a special treat to have all seven justices join the reception and engage further with our students. Congratulations to all of the talented competitors, and many thanks to the justices for participating in our annual moot court competition!


Published on November 12, 2021