FSU Law Black Alumni Network Installation

Press Date
March 5, 2021
Speaker and Student Smiling on Zoom Screen

The Black Alumni Network's installation ceremony was conducted virtually on February 24.

Last week, I had the honor of attending the installation ceremony for the inaugural board of our newly established Black Alumni Network (BAN). The virtual celebration was attended by more than 70 people, including the first Black male and female graduates of FSU Law—the Honorable Zebedee Wright (’71) and the Honorable Catherine Brunson (’75)—and other judges and Florida Bar leaders. BAN is the first of our alumni affiliate groups not based on location. This network of dynamic FSU Law alumni was founded by alumni Jasmyne Henderson (’15), Salesia Smith-Gordon (’92) and Kareem Spratling (’06). The group’s mission is to empower and support the Black students, alumni, faculty and staff of the Florida State University College of Law in order to assist those individuals and the College of Law as a whole in achieving their full potential. We are delighted to have them assist with recruiting new students, fundraising and supporting Black FSU Law community members, among other goals. You can learn more about BAN and sign up to be a member on our website. You can also view the installation ceremony online if you were unable to attend. Congratulations to the following recently installed Black Alumni Network board members:

  • Salesia Smith-Gordon (’92), president, racial justice consortium co-chair and Florida Bar Board of Governors advisor
  • Conti Smith (’07), president-elect
  • Alicia Dixon (’10), secretary
  • Kenneth D. Pratt (’99), treasurer and fund development
  • Jasmyne Henderson (’15), general counsel, governmental affairs co-chair and networking chair
  • Sia Baker-Barnes (’00), racial justice consortium co-chair
  • Daynica Harley (3L), Black Law Students Association president and student liaison
  • Marlon Hill (’95), communications chair and mentorship
  • Hon. Anthony Miller (’00), judicial co-chair
  • G.C. Murray II (’12), bylaws/corporate governance, membership development and recruitment
  • Sean Pittman (’94), governmental affairs co-chair
  • Hon. Stephen Stokes (’91), judicial co-chair
  • Glenda Thornton (’89), faculty advisor

Published on March 5, 2021